Currie Cup fever hits Kimberley as final is sold out

Currie Cup fever hits Kimberley as final is sold out

Tickets to the first Currie Cup final in Kimberley in 52-years is officially all sold out.

Currie Cup fever hits Kimberley as final is sold out
Zander du Plessis - Morgan Piek

The two smallest unions in the premier division of the competition, Griquas and the Pumas, will go head-to-head in the Currie Cup final on Saturday.

On Wednesday evening the government lifted the remaining Covid-19 restrictions and this allows sporting events to fill up to capacity.

On Friday morning the match was officially sold out with close to 13 000 spectators expected to attend the historic occasion.

Griquas coach Pieter Bergh told OFM News it will be a special occasion.

“The tickets are already sold out and the people of Kimberley have really reacted well to this,” said Bergh.

“It's wonderful for the town and it's wonderful for our supporters.

“I've met so many people this week that told me they were at the 1970 final and they next thought that they would be able to attend a Currie Cup final in Kimberley again.

“It's obviously wonder for us. I think that there will be seven guys from the 1970 team here for the game.

“It's will special for them and for us as well.

“I don't think there has ever been a sell-out crowd at this stadium.”

Saturday’s big final between the Peacock Blues and Pumas kicks off at 15:00.

Griquas - 15 George Whitehead, 14 Munier Hartzenberg, 13 Sango Xamlashe (captain), 12 Rynhardt Jonker, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Zander du Plessis, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Siba Qoma, 7 Hanru Sirgel, 6 Werner Gouws, 5 Derik Pretorius, 4 Cameron Lindsay, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Kudzwai Dude.

Replacements - 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Eddie Davids, 18 Andries Schutte, 19 Johan Retief, 20 Michael Amiras, 21 Johan Mulder, 22 Fiela Boshoff, 23 Chris Hollis.

Pumas - 15 Devon Williams, 14 Tapiwa Mafura, 13 Sebastian de Klerk, 12 Eddie Fouché, 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Chriswell September, 8 André Fouché, 7 Willie Engelbrecht (captain), 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Shane Kirkwood, 4 Deon Slabbert, 3 IG Prinsloo, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Corné Fourie.

Replacements - 16 Llewellyn Classen, 17 Dewald Maritz, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Kwanda Dimaza, 20 Francois Kleynhans, 21 Giovan Snyman, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Alwayno Visagie.


Listen to the latest Jacaranda FM sports bulletin

Show's Stories