Instagram CEO reveals what happens when you accidentally like old posts

Instagram CEO reveals what happens when you accidentally like old posts

If you have ever done a deep dive on an ex’s Insta profile and accidentally liked an old picture, you probably unliked it in record time with the hopes they never see the notification.

Instagram logo on phone
Instagram icon on phone / iStock

You break out in a cold sweat and think to yourself, “What have I done?!"

Maybe you were scrolling through an old friend’s Instagram profile or even an old flame, when you accidently double tapped on a picture that was way too old to pop up on your feed.

Or you don't even follow them, and it was supposed to be a covert operation, but you saw the heart and tried to undo the action as quickly as possible.

You breathe a sigh of relief knowing that they hopefully won't see the first notification.

Now we have official confirmation from the CEO himself, Adam Mosseri, on whether or not you can escape unscathed and avoid embarrassment.

In a recent video, Mosseri explained how the Instagram notification system works.

Mosseri says there are two types of notifications: the in-app activity feed and the phone lock screen push notification.

The good news: Instagram removes the in-app notification if you unlike the post.

You might not like the bad news.

Watch the video below to find out exactly what happens:

Even though the evidence has been removed, they already saw you commit the crime if they saw the phone notification pop up on their lock screen.

When they see the "(Name) liked your photo" notification and tap on it, it won't take them anywhere in the Instagram app.

Almost like it just disappeared into thin air.

For now, there is no super secure safety net, but some smart social media users have shared some of their tips for those who like to deep-dive:

  1. Airplane mode - putting your phone in airplane mode can prevent accidental notifications from being sent.
  2. Finsta account- a Fake Instagram account. This suggestion seems like more effort than it's worth, but many suggest creating a fake/second account so nothing can be traced back to you.
  3. If caught, double down - leave a comment along the lines of "Remember that?"

Whatever you choose to do, be safe rather than sorry. And consider not going down that rabbit hole in the first place.

Tune in to 'The Drive with Rob & Roz', on weekdays from 16:00 – 19:00. Stream the show live here or download our mobile app here.

Listen to Jacaranda FM: 

Follow us on social media:

Image: iStock

More on Jacaranda FM


Show's Stories