Confirmed heads of state for Mandela funeral

Confirmed heads of state for Mandela funeral

Confirmation of foreign Heads of State and Government attending activities relating to Former President Mandela's passing

The South African Government can confirm that the following Heads of State and Government and their representatives, as well as royalty, are travelling to South Africa to join the people of South Africa in bidding a final farewell to the late Former President Nelson Mandela:

Afghanistan, His Excellency Hamid Karzai, President 

African Union Commission, Her Excellency Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Chairperson

Algeria, His Excellency Mr Abdelkader Bensalah, Speaker of the Council of the Nation (Senate) – rank above the Prime Minister 

Angola, His Excellency Mr Manuel Vicente, Vice President 

Arab States League, His Excellency Amb Samir Hosny, Minister

Argentina, Mr Amado Boudou, Acting President of Argentina 

Australia,  His Excellency Mr Tony Abbott, MP, Prime Minister 

Bahamas, Right Honourable Perry Christie, Prime Minister 

Bangladesh, His Excellency Mr Md. Abdul Hamid MD ABDUL, President 

Belgium, His Royal Highness King Philippe 

Benin, His Excellency Boni Yayi, President  

Botswana, His Excellency Lt Gen. Seretse Khama Ian Khama, President 

Brazil, Her Excellency Dilma Rousseff, President

Burundi, His Excellency Pierre Nkurunziza, President 

Canada, His Excellency Stephen Harper, Prime Minister 

CHAD, His Excellency Mr Idriss Deby Itno, President 

China, His Excellency Li Yuanchao, Vice President, 

Commonwealth, His Excellency, Mr Kamalesh Sharma

COMORES, His Excellency Dr Ikiliou Dhoinine, President 

Congo (Democratic Republic of Congo), His Excellency Joseph Kabila, President 

Congo (Republic of the Congo ), His Excellency Mr Denis Sassou-Nguesso, President 

Cote d Ivoire, His Excellency President Allassane Ouattara, President 

Croatia, His Excellency Josipovic Ivo, President 

Cuba, His Excellency Raul Castro Ruz, President 

Denmark, His Royal Highness, Crown Prince Federick 

Djibouti, His Excellency Ismail Omar Guelleh, President 

Equatorial Guinea, His Excellency Mr Obiang Mbasogo, President 

Ethiopia, His Excellency Ato Hailemariam  Dessalegn, Prime Minister 

European Council, His Excellency Mr Herman van Rompuy, President

Finland, His Excellency Sauli Niinisto, President 

France, His Excellency, Francois Hollande, President 

Gabon, His Excellency Ali Bongo Ondimba, President 

Germany, His Excellency Joachim Gauck, President

Ghana, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, President

Grand Duchy of LUXEMBOURG, His Royal Highness Henry of Luxembourg, The Grand Duke

Guinea, His Excellency Prof Alpha Conde, President 

Guyana, His Excellency Donald Ramotar, President 

India, His Excellency Pranab Mukherjee, President 

Ireland, His Excellency Michael D Higgins, President 

Italy, His Excellency Enrico Letta, Prime Minister 

Jamaica, Her Excellency, Portia Simpson Miller, Prime Minister 

Japan, His Imperial Highness, Crown Prince Naruhito 

Jordan, Her Royal Highness, Queen Rania Al Abdullah and His Excellency Prime Minister Dr Abdullah Ensour 

Kenya, His Excellency Uhuru Kenyatta, President 

Korea (South), His Excellency Hongwon Chung, Prime Minister 

Lebanon, His Excellency Mr Najib Mikati, Prime Minister 

Lesotho, His Excellency, T Thabane, Prime Minister  

Liberia, Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President 

Malawi, Her Excellency Joyce Banda, President

Mauritania, His Excellency Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz,  President 

Mauritius, His Excellency Dr the Honourable Navinchandra, Prime Minister

Mexico, His Excellency Enrique Pena Nieto President of Mexico

Mozambique, President of Mozambique, HE Armando Emilio Guebuza

Namibia, His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba, President

New Zealand,  Right Hon John Key, Prime Minister

Niger, His Excellency Issoufou Mahamdou, President

Niger, His Excellency Mahamadou, President of Niger

Nigeria, His Excellency Goodluck Jonathan, President

Norway, His Royal Highness Haakon, Crown Prince of Norway  

Pakistan, His Excellency Mr Mamnoon Hussain, President

Palestinian State, His Excellency Mahmoud Abbas, President

Portugal, His Excellency, Anibal Cavaco Silva, President

Saharawi Republic, His Excellency Mr Mohamed Abdelaziz, President 

Saudi Arabia, His Royal Highness Prince Muqrin bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Crown Prince

Senegal, His Excellency Macky Sall, President

Serbia, His Excellency Tomislav Nikolic, President

Seychelles, His Excellency Mr James Alix MICHEL

Slovenia, His Excellency Pahor, President

South Sudan, His Excellency General Salva Kir Mayardit, President

Spain, His Royal Highness Felipe de Borbon, The Prince of Asturias

Sri Lanka, His Excellency Mahinda Rajapaksa, President

Suriname, His Excellency Desire Delano Bouterse, President

Suriname, His Excellency Desire Delano Bouterse, President

Swaziland, His Excellency Dr Sibusiso Dlamini, Prime Minister

Sweden, His Royal Highness Victoria, Prime Minister

Switzerland, His Excellency Mr Ulrich Maurer, President

Tanzania, His Excellency Dr Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President

The Gambia, His Excellency Prof Alhaji Dr Yahya AJJ Jammeh, President Sheikh 

Timor-Leste, His Excellency Kay Rala Xanana, Prime Minister

Trinidad and Tobago, His Excellency Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister

Tunisia, His Excellency Mohamed Moncef Marzouki, President

Uganda, His Excellency Yoweri Kagota Museveni, President

United Arab Emirates, His Excellency Sheikh Nayahan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture – Special Envoy of the Emir

United Kingdom, His Royal Highness Prince Charles, Prince of Wales and Prime Minister David Cameron

Venezuela, His Excellency Nicolas Maduro Moros, President

Zambia, His Excellency Michael Sata, President

Zimbabwe, His Excellency Robert Gabriel Mugabe, President

Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane said: "Former President Mandela was an international icon and a symbol of hope for the oppressed and marginalised people across the globe. He will always be remembered worldwide for his values and dedication to the service of humanity in the fields of conflict resolution, reconciliation, the promotion and protection of the rights of children, gender equality and the uplifting of the poor."
At the initiative of South African Government and the Nelson Mandela Foundation, the United Nations General Assembly, in 2010, proclaimed18 July, the birthday of Former President Mandela, as “Nelson Mandela International Day”, to be observed each year.
Since 2010, millions of people from around the world have annually celebrated Madiba’s birthday by dedicating their time in community service - their actions inspired by the work of this iconic South African leader.

Show's Stories