Eskom to cut power to defaulting municipalities

Eskom to cut power to defaulting municipalities

Two municipalities in Mpumalanga that are struggling to settle their debt to Eskom will experience interrupted power supply on Thursday, the power utility said.

Eskom Holdings
Getty Images

The power supply interruption in eMalahleni and Msukaligwa municipalities platforms will affect areas that include Doornpoort, Churchill, KwaGuqa, Witbank and Emerlo.

“The interruption of supply as a result of non-payment remains an agonising decision for Eskom and is a means of last resort. We take solace in the fact that we spared no effort to collect outstanding debts amicably,” Eskom said.

ALSO READ: Court says Eskom can cut power to recover debt

“In spite of the fact that both the provisions of the Electricity Regulation Act 4 of 2006 and supply agreements with the municipalities empower Eskom to disconnect electricity completely, Eskom has opted for a softer approach of interrupting electricity during certain hours in the day.”

Eskom said in order to avoid power cuts, municipalities in arrears need to forward agreed cash payments, a written undertaking in the form of a council resolution that the debt would be honoured and a payment plan for the amount owing supported by a municipality.

Show's Stories