MPs elect Mapisa-Nqakula as National Assembly Speaker

MPs elect Mapisa-Nqakula as National Assembly Speaker

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula is the new Speaker of the National Assembly in Parliament.

MPs elect Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula as National Assembly Speaker

Her election was necessitated by the resignation of Thandi Modise almost two weeks ago after she was called to serve as Defence Minister under President Cyril Ramaphosa’s administration. 

The African National Congress (ANC) threw its weight behind Mapisa-Nqakula while the Democratic Alliance (DA) fielded Annelie Lotriet as its preferred candidate.  

Proceedings got underway at the National Assembly chambers on Thursday morning, stretching over several hours. 

Western Cape Judge President, Justice John Hlophe presided over the sitting. 

Mapisa-Nqakula won the campaign by 199 votes. 

This is despite contestation by some parties who raised concerns over the former Defence Minister’s track record. 

Close to 300 votes were cast by Members of Parliament (MPs) by way of a secret ballot.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) were visibly absent from proceedings. 

Cheers broke out from the ANC benches after the results were certified and read out. 


Listen to more local news below Jacaranda
Jacaranda FM

Show's Stories