Listen Live Upload

President Zuma bestows National Orders Awards

President Jacob Zuma has awarded 32 recipients with National Orders. 

National Orders 2016_jacanews
Photo: Slindelo Masikane, JacarandaFM News

National Orders are the highest awards that a country, through its President, bestows on its citizens and eminent foreign nationals.

The awards were given to individuals who have contributed in some way or other towards the advancement of South Africa's democracy. 

Among the recipients were Mac Maharaj and Winne Madikizela-Mandela for their contribution in the struggle for freedom.

They received the Order of Luthuli in Silver which is given to those who have served the interests of South Africa 

Due to a recent surgery, Madikizela-Mandela was unable to attend. 

President Zuma described her as a courageous woman who became a symbol of the struggle against apartheid.

"She was not deterred by the persecutions. She became a formidable force facing the enemy head-on," the president said.

The honours awarded include the Order of Mendi for Bravery, the Order of Ikhamanga, the Order of the Baobab, the Order of Luthuli and the Order of the Companions of OR Tambo.

The honours awarded include the Order of Mendi for Bravery, the Order of Ikhamanga, the Order of the Baobab, the Order of Luthuli and the Order of the Companions of OR Tambo.

The Order of Mendi for Bravery recognises South African citizens who have performed acts of bravery.

Recipients this year include:

Hermanus Gabriel Loots (aka James Stuart), Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK) operative

Maqashu Leonard Mdingi, trade unionist and political detainee

Ulysses Modise, MK veteran and head of Northern Cape Province National Intelligence Agency during apartheid

Peter Sello Motau, Soweto MK commander during apartheid

Wilson Ngcayiya aka Bogart Soze, MK veteran

Joseph "Mpisi" Nduli, MK operative and Robben Island prisoner

Sam Ntuli, Civic Association activist and ANC operative

Major General Jackie Refiloe Sedibe, ANC Women's League veteran and former Defence Force chief director of corporate communications

Dr Sizakele Sigxashe, first post-apartheid director-general of the National Intelligence Agency

Major General Peter Lesego Tshikare, MK operative, post-apartheid military intelligence representative from 1994 until retirement in 1998 Tshikare died in 2008.

The Order of Ikhamanga recognises South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport.

Recipients this year include:

Laurika Rauch, Afrikaans singer/songwriter

Thomas Hasani Chauke, Xitsonga singer/songwriter

Sylvia "Magogo" Glasser, cultural activist and dance instructor

Marguerite Poland, author

Benedict Wallet Vilakazi, isiZulu author and poet

Professor Rosina Mamokgethi Phakeng, mathematician and educator

The Order of the Baobab recognises South African citizens who have contributed to community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation.

Recipients this year include:

Professor Helen Rees, scientist and HIV/Aids activist

Marina Nompinti Maponya, businesswoman and gender activist

The Order of Luthuli recognises South African citizens who have contributed to the struggle for democracy, nation-building, building democracy and human rights, justice and peace as well as for the resolution of conflict.

Recipients this year include:

Suliman "Babla" Saloojee, early political activist

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, political activist, parliamentarian and struggle heroine

Brian Francis Bishop, civil rights activist and progressive politician during the 1980s

Msizi Harrison Dube, KwaZulu-Natal community leader and anti-apartheid activist

Rev Dr Simon Gqubule, former United Democratic Front member, cleric, academic and community leader

Mac Maharaj, ANC stalwart, post-apartheid government minister and former spokesman for the Presidency

Mary Thipe, KwaZulu-Natal activist and former vice-chairperson of the ANC Women's League

Amy Rietstein Thornton, activist and founder member of the Modern Youth Society during apartheid, as well as a member of the South African Communist Party and the ANC

John Zikhali, Cosatu trade unionist and former president of the Southern African Clothing and Textile Workers' Union in the 1990s

Cleopas Madoda Nsibande, defendant in the 1956 Treason Trial, founder member of the South African Congress of Trade Unions and trade unionist

The Order of Mapungubwe recognises South African citizens for achievements that have had an international impact and have served the interests of the republic.

There is one recipient this year:

Zwelakhe Sisulu, journalist, editor and first post-apartheid head of the SABC

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo recognises eminent foreign nationals for friendship shown to South Africa. It is an order of peace and co- operation and is an active expression of solidarity and support.

Recipients this year include:

Noureddine Djoudi, Algerian career diplomat and former ambassador to South Africa

Maria Kint, Dutch arts and culture manager

President Michelle Bachelet Jeria, Chilean president

Show's Stories