What the Parliamentary committee that will investigate the Public Protector looks like

What the Parliamentary committee that will investigate the Public Protector looks like

Parliament has received the list names of committee members that will investigate whether Public Protector Busisiwe Mkhwebane is fit to hold office.

Busisiwe Mkhwebane confident of vindication in perjury case

“The National Assembly (NA) Speaker Ms Thandi Modise has received the names of NA Members of Parliament who will constitute the Section 194 Committee, which will enquire into whether or not there are grounds for the removal from office of Public Protector Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane,” says spokesperson Moloto Mothapo.


The committee will consist of 26 members, proportionally representing each of the 14 political parties represented in parliament. 


Only 11 members on the Section 194 Committee will be voting members – the remaining 15 will be non-voting members.

ALSO READ: Mpumalanga nature reserves remain closed amid labour dispute


Mothapo adds the committee to start its probe with urgency.


Furthermore, the Committee must elect its chairperson at its first meeting and conclude its business within a reasonable time frame.








African National Congress 

Dlakude, Ms Doris Eunice 

Dyantyi, Mr Qubudile Richard 

Joemat-Pettersson, Ms Tina Monica 

Gungubele, Mr Mondli  

Hermans, Ms Judy 

Nkosi, Mr Bekizwe Simon 

Mapulane, Mr Mohlopi Phillemon (Alternate)  

Mgweba, Ms Teiliswa (Alternate) 


Democratic Alliance  

Lotriet, Dr Annelie 

Schreiber, Dr Leon Amos 


Economic Freedom Fighters  

Malema, Mr Julius Sello 


Inkatha Freedom Party  

Majozi, Ms Zandile 


Freedom Front Plus  

Mulder, Dr Cornelius Petrus 



African National Congress  

Tolashe, Ms Nokuzola Gladys 

Nqola, Mr Xola 


Democratic Alliance  

Nodada, Mr Baxolile Babongile 


Economic Freedom Fighters 

Maotwe, Ms Omphile Mankoba Confidence 


Inkatha Freedom Party 

Msimang, Prof Christian Themba 


Freedom Front Plus 

Denner, Ms Heloise 


African Christian Democratic Party 

Sukers, Ms Marie Elizabeth 


United Democratic Movement 

Holomisa, Mr Bantubonke Harrington 


African Transformation Movement 

Marawu, Ms Thandiswa Linnen 



August, Mr Shaun 


National Freedom Party 

Shaik-Emam, Mr Ahmed Munzoor 


African Independent Congress 

Ntshayisa, Mr Lulama Maxwell 


Congress of the People 

Madisha, Mr William Mothipa 


Pan Africanist Congress 

Nyhontso, Mr Mzwanele 


Al Jama-ah 

Hendricks, Mr Mogamad Ganief Ebrahim   


Show's Stories