Bavuma returns, Breetzke only new face in Proteas Test squad

Bavuma returns, Breetzke only new face in Proteas Test squad

Proteas red-ball head coach Shukri Conrad on Monday named a 16-player squad for the two-match Test series against West Indies. 

Temba Bavuma - AFP

The series starts on 7 August in Trinidad and Tobago. 


Warriors batter Matthew Breetzke has received his maiden Test call-up after impressing in last season’s domestic four-day competition with 322 runs at an average of 46, including a top score of 188. 

The Warriors captain also lead South Africa A in a four-day match against India A in December. 


Wicket-keeper batter Ryan Rickelton makes his return to the red-ball setup for the first time since South Africa hosted the West Indies in March 2023. 


All-rounder Marco Jansen has been rested for the series. 


The two-match Test series, which is part of the ICC World Test Championship, will be South Africa’s first in the Caribbean since June 2021, which saw them claim a 2-0 series win over the hosts. 


Commenting on the squad, Conrad said: "We are looking forward to returning to Test cricket after a busy period of limited-overs cricket over the past few months. 


"This tour is extremely important for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship. We have, therefore, selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean.


"We have one new face in the squad, Matthew Breetzke, who is selected on the back of an excellent past season. 


“The decision to rest Marco Jansen was taken to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring optimal physical and mental well-being given the season-long workloads.


"Half of our squad will be part of a camp to be held in Durban next week,” added Conrad.


Proteas Test squad against West Indies:

Temba Bavuma* (captain, DP World Lions), David Bedingham (World Sports Betting Western Province), Matthew Breetzke* (Dafabet Warriors), Nandre Burger (World Sports Betting Western Province), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tony de Zorzi* (World Sports Betting Western Province), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder* (DP World Lions), Lungi Ngidi* (Momentum Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson* (World Sports Betting Western Province), Dane Piedt (Knights), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Tristan Stubbs* (Dafabet Warriors), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), and Kyle Verreynne* (World Sports Betting Western Province). 

Listen to the latest Jacaranda FM sports bulletin


Show's Stories