Lions, Stormers aim to stay on unbeaten track

Lions, Stormers aim to stay on unbeaten track

The DHL Stormers and Emirates Lions are both hunting a third consecutive win on Saturday in Round 3 of Vodacom Super Rugby. 

Vodacom Super Rugby

The Capetonians travel to Port Elizabeth for their clash against the Southern Kings, while the men from Joburg are in Buenos Aires to face the Jaguares.


In the first match involving a team from South Africa on Saturday, Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth will captain the DHL Stormers for the first time in their clash with the Kings in PE.

 Etzebeth will lead the side at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in the absence of regular captain Siya Kolisi who is being rested for this match, while wing Bjorn Basson will also make his debut for the Cape side on the wing.

 In the second local match this Saturday, the Toyota Cheetahs are favourites against the visiting Sunwolves, who have travelled to Bloemfontein on the back of two losses. Kick-off is at 17h15.


The match will also see the return of former Toyota Cheetahs loose forward Willie Britz to the Free State capital. After more than 100 first-class games for the Toyota Cheetahs and Emirates Lions in various competitions, he is now on a two-year contract with the Sunwolves.


The action then moves to Durban for the 19h30 fixture featuring the Cell C Sharks and Australian side the Waratahs. It is the first home outing for Pat Lambie and his team following two away games in Australia, which produced five important league points.

 Cell C Sharks coach Robert du Preez has named the same 23-man squad that beat the Brumbies in Canberra last weekend for this encounter, in which the home team can be regarded as favourites as the last time the Sydneysiders won in Durban was way back in 2009.

 Buenos Aires hosts the final game on Saturday evening (21h40) when the Jaguares entertain the high-flying Emirates Lions, who are hunting their third successive win of the season. Former Junior Springbok and Vodacom Bulls lock Marvin Orie will make his debut for the visitors, replacing Springbok Franco Mostert (rested).

 The Vodacom Bulls and the Rebels are the first two sides to enjoy a bye weekend as they will sit out the weekend action.



 Southern Kings vs DHL Stormers

Southern Kings: 15. Masixole Banda, 14. Makazole Mapimpi, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Luzuko Vulindlu, 11. Malcolm Jaer, 10. Lionel Cronje (vice-capt), 9. Rick Schroeder, 8. Ruaan Lerm, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 6. Chris Cloete, 5. Irne Herbst, 4. Tyler Paul, 3. Ross Geldenhuys, 2. Michael Willemse, 1. Schalk Ferreira (captain). Replacements: 16. Kurt Haupt, 17. Schalk van der Merwe, 18. Chris Heiberg, 19. Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20. Andisa Ntsila, 21. Johan Steyn, 22. Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 23. Berton Klaasen.

 DHL Stormers: 15. SP Marais, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. EW Viljoen, 12. Dan du Plessis, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Oli Kebble. Replacements: 16. Ramone Samuels, 17. JC Janse van Rensburg, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. Chris Van Zyl, 20. Jaco Coetzee, 21. Justin Phillips, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23 Damian Willemse.

Match information:

Date: Saturday, 11 March

SA Time: 15h05

Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Referee: Shuhei Kubo (Japan)

Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs (South Africa), Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)

Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

 Toyota Cheetahs vs Sunwolves

 Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Clayton Blommetjies, 14. Zee Mkhabela, 13. Rayno Benjamin, 12. Clinton Swart, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Tian Meyer, 8. Niell Jordaan, 7. Oupa Mohoje, 6. Paul Schoeman, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Justin Basson, 3. Johan Coetzee, 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1. Charles Marais. Replacements: 16. Danie Mienie, 17. Elandre Huggett, 18. Tom Botha, 19. Armandt Koster, 20. Henco Venter, 21. Niel Marais, 22. Ali Mgijima, 23. Ruan van Rensburg.

 Sunwolves: 15. Shota Emi, 14. Takaaki Nakazuru, 13. William Tupou, 12. Derek Carpenter, 11. Kenki Fukuoka, 10. Hayden Cripps, 9. Keisuke Uchida, 8. Willie Britz, 7. Shuhei Matsuhashi, 6. Edward Quirk, 5. Uwe Helu, 4. Liaki Moli, 3. Yasuo Yamaji, 2. Yusuke Niwai, 1. Kkoki Yamamoto. Replacements: 16. Atsushi Sakate, 17. Masataka Mikami, 18. Takuma Asahara, 19. Sam Wykes, 20. Shokei Kin, 21. Kaito Shigeno, 22. Jumpei Ogura, 23. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi.

 Match information:

Date: Saturday, 11 March

SA Time: 17h15

Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)

Television match official: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

 Cell C Sharks vs Waratahs

 Cell C Sharks:  15. Clement Poitrenaud, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie (captain), 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Tera Mtembu, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Philip van der Walt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Tendai Mtawarira. Replacements: 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Jean Droste, 20. Jacques Vermeulen, 21. Michael Claassens, 22. Jeremy Ward, 23. Curwin Bosch.

 Waratahs: TBA

 Match information:

Date: Saturday, 11 March

SA Time: 19h30

Venue: Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)

Assistant referees: Egon Seconds, Stuart Berry (both South Africa)

Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

 Jaguares v Emirates Lions

 Jaguares: TBA

 Emirates Lions: 15. Jaco van der Walt, 14. Courtnall Skosan, 13. Jacques Nel, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Shaun Reynolds, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Kwagga Smith, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Johannes Jonker, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Dylan Smith. Replacements: 16. Malcolm Marx, 17. Jacques van Rooyen, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Louren Erasmus, 20. Jaco Kriel, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Andries Coetzee, 23. Sylvian Mahuza.

 Match information:

Date: Saturday, 11 March

SA Time: 21h40

Venue: Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires

Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)

Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Damian Schneider (Argentina)

Television match official: Borsani (Argentina)

 Other fixtures (SA kick-off times):

 Friday, 10 March:

Saturday, 11 March:

08h35: Blues v Highlanders (Auckland)

10h45: Reds v Crusades (Brisbane)

Bye: Vodacom Bulls, Rebels

Show's Stories