South Africa thrash Sri Lanka to clinch T20 series

South Africa thrash Sri Lanka to clinch T20 series

Quinton de Kock hit an unbeaten 58 as South Africa hammered Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the second Twenty20 international to clinch the series in Colombo on Sunday.

SA vs Pakistans first T20 10 March
Photo: Twitter/CSA

Spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and Aiden Markram took three wickets each to help bowl out Sri Lanka for 103, a total the tourists chased down in 14.1 overs to take an unbeatable 2-0 lead.

The left-handed De Kock, a wicketkeeper-batsman, put on 62 runs with opening partner Reeza Hendricks, who made 18, and raised his 10th T20 half-century. Markram scored 21 not out.

The third T20 is on Tuesday at the same venue.

Scoreboard of the second Twenty20 international between Sri Lanka and South Africa in Colombo on Sunday:

Sri Lanka

K. Perera lbw b Markram                 30

D. Chandimal c Maharaj b Nortje          5

B. Rajapaksa c and b Markram            20

D. de Silva st de Kock b Shamsi          4

D. Shanaka b Shamsi                     10

C. Asalanka c and b Markram             14

W. Hasaranga b Fortuin                   4

C. Karunaratne b Shamsi                  8

D. Chameera lbw b Fortuin                1

M. Theekshana lbw b Maharaj              0

P. Jayawickrama not out                  0

Extras (b2, lb1, w4)                     7

Total (all out, 18.1 overs)            103

Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Chandimal), 2-38 (Markram), 3-59 (de Silva), 4-71 (Shanaka), 5-78 (Perera), 6-86 (Hasaranga), 7-100 (Karunaratne), 8-103 (Chameera), 9-103 (Asalanka), 10-103 (Theekshana)

Bowling: Fortuin 4-0-12-2 (1w), Nortje 2-0-8-1, Rabada 2-0-29-0, Markram 4-1-21-3 (2w), Maharaj 2.1-0-10-1, Shamsi 4-0-20-3 (1w)

South Africa (target 104)

Q. de Kock not out                      58

R. Hendricks c Chandimal b Hasaranga    18

A. Markram not out                      21

Extras (b4, nb1, w3)                     8

Total (1 wickets, 14.1)                105

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Hendricks)

Did not bat: R. van der Dussen, H. Klaasen, D. Pretorius, K. Maharaj, K. Rabada, B. Fortuin, A. Nortje, T. Shamsi

Bowling: Chameera 2-0-13-0 (2w, 1nb), De Silva 2-0-18-0, Theekshana 4-0-30-0 (1w), Jayawickrama 1.1-0-12-0, Hasaranga 4-0-22-1, Shanaka 1-0-6-0

Toss: Sri Lanka

Result: South Africa won by 9 wickets

Series: South Africa lead the three-match series 2-0

Umpires: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI), Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Listen to the latest Jacaranda FM sports bulletin

Show's Stories