Concern as 4th SABC board member resigns

Concern as 4th SABC board member resigns

The Presidency has confirmed that four members of the board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) have resigned. 

SABC building
Stock image

Khanyisile Kweyama, Krish Naidoo, John Matisonn and Mathata Tsedu have all tendered their resignations.

Presidency spokesperson, Khusela Diko, says President Ramaphosa will be writing to Speaker of National Assembly, Baleka Mbete, to inform her of the resignations.

"And since the appointment of the SABC board is done on recommendation of Parliament, it is expected that Parliament refer this matter to the relevant portfolio committee to take forward," Diko says.

Diko says the communications portfolio committee will be looking into the options available to it.

ALSO READ:6 arrested for Vodacom trashing

"We would not obviously would not want to be preempt as the presidency in this regard as the process of appointment of the SABC board is undertaken by parliament.”

She says Ramaphosa met with the newly appointed Minister of Communications Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams on Wednesday.

"Amongst the issues that the president would have raised was his concern around what seems to be an impasse at the SABC as it relates to the governments guarantee that the board had sought some governance as well as the planned retrenchments of workers."

Diko says presidency hopes that Ndabeni - Abrahams will soon be in a position to advice Ramaphosa on alternatives moving forward.

Show's Stories