Eskom postpones power cut to 10 municipalities

Eskom postpones power cut to 10 municipalities

Eskom has decided to postpone the scheduled bulk power cut to defaulting municipalities.

power lines_flickr
Photo: Flickr, Tony Webster

AfriForum and AfriBusiness approached the North Gauteng High Court in a bid to halt the power cuts to 10 municipalities that was scheduled for tomorrow.

Eskom spokesperson Khulu Phasiwe says the power utility has postponed the interruption until mid-January.

"After careful consideration of the impact of the public holidays over the festive period, and the commitment made in court today during the AfriForum case, Eskom has decided to postpone the interruption of supply to these municipalities from 5 January 2017 to 16 January 2017. This will allow all impacted stakeholders more time to prepare accordingly," says Phasiwe.

He says Eskom hopes that the affected municipalities will use this opportunity to make payment arrangements.

The seven affected municipalities in the Free State are; Tokologo, Nketoana, Nala, Mantsopa, Masilonyana, Dihlabeng, and Moqhaka.

The three municipalities in the North West are Naledi, Mamusa, and Ventersdorp.

Show's Stories