One SA to equip independent candidates in 10 municipalities ahead of elections

One SA to equip independent candidates in 10 municipalities ahead of elections

The One South Africa Movement has announced it will support and equip independent associations in 10 municipalities to contest in the upcoming elections. 

Mmusi Maimane
Image courtesy: OneSA Zoom Video

Leader Mmusi Maimane made the announcement on Friday. 

 He said municipalities are on the brink of collapse.

"Our role in this regard is to partner with Independent Associations, we will assist them to form constitutions and to be constitutionally recognised.

ALSO READ: More than 1 000 Gauteng pupils test positive for Covid-19

"To ensure they can roll out candidate nominations, and ultimately ensuring that they are able to campaign and roll out a strategy within those municipalities," said Maimane.

 The Organisations will register under section 15A of the Electoral Commission Act to participate in the local elections.

The municipalities are:

 Emfuleni - Gauteng 

Greater Letaba - Limpopo

Enoch Mgijima - Eastern Cape

Lepele-Nkumpi - Limpopo

J. S Moroka - Mpumalanga 

Moses Kotane - North West 

Beyers Naude - Eastern Cape

Ubuntu - Northern Cape 

Cederberg - Western Cape 

Knysna - Western Cape

Maimane said these are the first municipalities others will follow. 

He also confirmed that the movement has also set its eyes on metros. 

"The trick is to always ensure you have capable leaders. For instance, right now we are having conversations with an association in Tshwane to look at that metro and we will look at what happens in the Eastern Cape," he said. 

Listen to more news Jacaranda
Jacaranda FM

Show's Stories