Three more municipalities reach agreement with Eskom

Three more municipalities reach agreement with Eskom

Eskom says planned supply interruptions have been suspended in three more municipalities.

Eskom to implement power cut to owing municipalities_gallo
File photo: Gallo images

Payment agreements have been reached with Dihlabeng and Masilonyana municipalities in the Free State Province and Mamusa in the North West Province. 

This comes after agreements were reached with five other municipalities ahead of this morning's interruption.

"We have always emphasised the fact that electricity interruptions are the last resort available to us, which we have taken agonisingly. We are immensely encouraged by the kind of response we are witnessing presently," says Interim Chief Executive Matshela Koko.

Koko says they will monitor the strict adherence to the payment plans. 

"Time has come for the outstanding overdue debt to be honoured in full. Eskom is bent on ensuring that this happens for the sole benefit of, not only Eskom, but the entire South African economy,' says Koko.

For a list of the affected municipalities, click here.

Eskom will continue with the supply interruptions of electricity to the remaining municipalities from 6.00am - 8.00am and 5.00pm - 7.30pm on Mondays to Fridays and 8.30am - 11.00am and 3.00pm - 5.30 pm on Saturdays and Sundays.

Show's Stories