'Poppie Nongena' bags 12 awards at the kykNET Silwerskerm Festival

'Poppie Nongena' bags 12 awards at the kykNET Silwerskerm Festival

The film walked away with the awards for Best Feature Film and Best Actress.


Legacy film, Poppie Nongena - which will release in cinemas nationwide on 30 January 2020, bagged 12 awards at the 2019 kykNET Silwerskermfees.

READ ALSO: South African film, Poppie Nongena to release in local cinemas in 2020

The winners were announced during a glitzy ceremony at The Bay Hotel in Camps Bay on Saturday evening. The ceremony was hosted by actor and writer Bennie Fourie and actress June van Merch. 

Producer Helena Spring and director Christian Olwagen's film bagged 12 awards - the most for a feature film at the festival. The film is based on Elsa Joubert's The Long Journey of Poppie Nongena, which is regarded as one of the best African novels of the twentieth century. 


Award-winning cast and crew

Clementine Mosimane, who plays the role of Poppie, won Best Actress and veteran actor Chris Gxalaba won Best Actor. Other awards include Best Ensemble Cast, Best Feature Film, Best Director, and Best Script.

READ ALSO: "Dit gaan oor liefde"- Zenobia Kloppers oor die nuwe 'Fiela se Kind'

The movie also stars Anna-Mart van der Merwe and Rolanda Marais. Nomsa Nene, who played the title role to rave reviews in the international theatre production of Poppie, plays Poppie’s mother in the film, for which she received the award for Best Supporting Actress.

And the rest of the winners are...

[Feature Films]

Best Actor

Stian Bam – Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer

Best Actress

Clementine Mosimane – Poppie Nongena

Best Supporting Actor

Chris Gxalaba – Poppie Nongena

Best Supporting Actress

Nomsa Nene – Poppie Nongena

Best Feature Film

Poppie Nongena

Best Screenplay

Christiaan Olwagen en Saartjie Botha – Poppie Nongena

Best Director

Christiaan Olwagen – Poppie Nongena

Best Production Design

Chantel Carter – Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer

Best Editing

Eva du Preez – Poppie Nongena

Best Cinematographer

Vicci Turpin – Poppie Nongena

Best Original Score

Kyle Shepherd – Fiela se Kind

Best Hair and Make-Up

Gale Shepherd – Poppie Nongena

Best Costume Design

Sylvia van Heerden – Poppie Nongena

Best Sound Design

James Olivier, Richard West, Simon Ratcliffe – Poppie Nongena

Best Ensemble Cast

Poppie Nongena

For the full list of winners in the short film category, click here.

Show's Stories