Ramaphosa appoints new ConCourt judges

Ramaphosa appoints new ConCourt judges

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed two judges to the Constitutional Court.

Constitutional Court-wiki

Justices Zukisa Laura Lumka Tshiqi and Stevan Arnold Majiedt have been appointed to serve in the highest court in the land.

In a statement, Ramaphosa said their tenure will start on October 1.

“President Ramaphosa appointed Judges Tshiqi and Majiedt from a list of five nominees prepared by the Judicial Services Commission,” the Presidency said in a statement on Wednesday.

He made the appointments following the discharge of former Deputy Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke and Justice Bess Nkabinde.

Tshiqi (58) and Majiedt (58) began their legal career in 1986 and 1984 respectively.

“President Ramaphosa has expressed his confidence that Justices Tshiqi and Majiedt will further enrich jurisprudence at the apex Court which has served the nation with distinction throughout the democratic dispensation.”

Show's Stories